Best TV dramas of all time

13 Apr

It had to be done. I love TV drama, so I’ve catalogue my favourite TV dramas, in order.

  1. The Sopranos
  2. Red Riding
  3. Our Friends in the North
  4. State of Play
  5. The Wire
  6. This Is England
  7. The Walking Dead
  8. Friday Night Lights
  9. Homeland
  10. Breaking Bad
  11. Life On Mars (UK)
  12. My So Called Life
  13. Band of Gold
  14. Boardwalk Empire
  15. The Killing
  16. Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  17. Twin Peaks
  18. Misfits
  19. Mad Men
  20. Six Feet Under
  21. Cold Feet
  22. Dexter
  23. The West Wing
  24. Dawson’s Creek
  25. Queer As Folk
  26. Clocking Off
  27. This Life
  28. The Good Wife
  29. The X Files
  30. Accused
  31. Battlestar Galactica

There are so many I haven’t watched yet. Thanks to The Guardian’s great list from two years ago I can see I have many hours of TV still ahead of me. Shows from that list (and my own head) which I haven’t watched yet are:

Sons of Anarchy
Brideshead Revisited (I’m particularly annoyed with myself at this one – I’ve watched all of Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, which I hated, and yet I haven’t watch something I know I’ll love? Sort yourself out, me)
A Very Peculiar Practice
Talking Heads
Boys from the Black Stuff
How Do You Want Me?
Smiley’s People
House of Cards
Bodies
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy (another one I’ll probably love, I’m sure)
Pennies From Heaven
The Monocled Mutineer
Jewel in the Crown
Band of Brothers
Hill Street Blues (this is all currently on 4oD, which I’m excited about)
The Prisoner
St Elsewhere
The Big C
American Horror Story
The L Word
The Shield
The Bleak House

Leave a comment